St. Colman’s National School is a rural school situated in the village of Ballindaggin, Co. Wexford which lies in the picturesque foothills of Mount Leinster 12km from the towns of Enniscorthy and Bunclody.
It is a mixed school and has a current enrolment of 169 pupils.
Given its geographical location the greater part of students from St. Colman’s N.S. go on to secondary school in the town of Bunclody, FCJ Secondary School and Bunclody Vocational College. The remaining pupils usually move on to Secondary Schools in Enniscorthy.
Within the school there are six Mainstream Class Teachers, three Support Teachers and three Special Needs Assistants.
There has been a school building in Ballindaggin for over 150 years. Prior to this there were a number of hedge schools operating in the area. The old school used to stand on the site where the Community Hall now stands.
The original school building on the current site, which is now used as the school hall, was opened in 1910 as a two classroom school. It remained this way until 1954 when the school was extended to three classrooms.
The current school building was officially opened in 1984 with the Junior Infant classroom being opened later on in 1985.